CBS News October 2011

CBS symposium: One Fungus = Which Name?

Fungi are now explicitly recognized in the newly named International Code of Nomenclature for Algae, Fungi and Plants. The radical changes to naming pleomorphic fungi resulting from the complete revision of Article 59 will require unprecedented collaboration among mycological taxonomists.
Linking DNA sequence data to the right morph; who decides which is the right genus name and species epithet, and based on what criteria?
Who will serve on the committees that manage the names in the anamorph-teleomorph database?
How will effective publication work in practice now that hard copies are no longer required?
Now that registration of taxonomic novelties is mandatory (1 Jan. 2012), names and descriptions need to be linked to all specimens, DNA sequences and strain data.
What is the Lists of Protected Names, and do they require sequence data to be so recognized or not?

These fundamental questions in modern fungal taxonomy are the focus of this two day meeting organised by the CBS-KNAW Fungal Biodiversity Centre on the theme “One Fungus = Which Name?”.

This symposium is organized by CBS in collaboration with the Nomenclatural Committee for Fungi (of the IBC) and the International Commission of the Taxonomy of Fungi (of the IMA and IUMS), in an effort to communicate accurate information about the new Code, and organize community activities to address the opportunities it provides.

Invited keynote speakers are: Paul Kirk, Scott Redhead, Lorelei Norvell, Mike Wingfield, Uwe Braun, Keith Seifert, Amy Rossman, John Taylor, Kevin Hyde, XingZhong Liu, and David Hawksworth. The “One Fungus=Which Name” concept will be discussed and applied in various breakout sessions which will be divided based on selected fungal orders, based on the recent Fungal Tree of Life. A database of anamorph-teleomorph genera and their hierarchy will soon be placed on the IMA Website (, where mycologists should express their interest in specific orders, to enable us to estimate the size of the various discussion groups for the breakout sessions.

Date and Venue: The symposium will be held in Amsterdam from 12–13 April 2012 at the Trippenhuis, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).

Presentations: The meeting will consist of invited and offered presentations, and posters.

Book launches:
Taxonomic Manual of the Erysiphales (Powdery Mildews)  (Uwe Braun and Roger T.A. Cook)
Atlas of Soil Ascomycetes (Josep Guarro, Josepa Gené, Alberto M. Stchigel & M. José Figueras)

International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi (ICTF) Council Meeting: 14 April, at CBS (contact for details)

IMA Executive Council Meeting: 14 April, at CBS (contact for details)


Euro 200,--
(includes the lunches, coffee and tea for two days and cocktail party).